Making Faces by Amy Harmon My rating: 5 of 5 stars Making Faces by Amy Harmon is my new favorite book. I read a lot, and I connect a lot to different kinds of books, but this kind of book, this story, this heartfelt world that she created- was beyond any connection I have ever had with a novel. She first got me with the quote, “Everybody is a main character to someone.”- This was said early on in the book and stuck with me throughout. It, of course, was true for this story- there could have been several main characters- I personally had three. Three characters in one story that I loved, cried for, laughed at, cheered for and wanted to hug.I knew right away that the chapter names were the items on Bailey’s list, but what was so genius was that his selflessness gave him the ability to accomplish the list, even if the item checked off was for or involving another person. The simplicity of how he lived his life mixed with the complexity of his thought process and understanding and acceptance of his disease was equally heartbreaking and wonderful to experience. Fern, I loved. She was the perfect friend through and through, and her interactions with Ambrose were so sweet, honesty and pure- I LOVE THEM. Ambrose and Bailey couldn’t have been more opposite figures in Fern’s life or more opposite characters, and yet, they were both “heroes” as was Fern, a “heroine”. It’s pretty genius to be able to create all that in one story and then intertwine it all so perfectly. The outcome was bittersweet- through life and death, everyone was always growing in the book, so it made the tragedies easier to accept. My absolute favorite quote, and a quote I’m strongly considering getting tattooed on me (I have no tattoos), was- “Victory is in the Battle”- that completely resonated with me, and the author, I felt, tied that theme into so many different circumstances between the different characters throughout the book. “And so we endure. We have faith that there is purpose. We hope for things we can’t see. We believe that there are lessons in loss, power in love, and that we have within us the potential for a beauty so magnificent that our bodies can’t contain it.”- Like I said, it’s my new favorite. View all my reviews

<a href="Making FacesMaking Faces by Amy Harmon
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Making Faces by Amy Harmon is my new favorite book. I read a lot, and I connect a lot to different kinds of books, but this kind of book, this story, this heartfelt world that she created- was beyond any connection I have ever had with a novel. She first got me with the quote, “Everybody is a main character to someone.”- This was said early on in the book and stuck with me throughout. It, of course, was true for this story- there could have been several main characters- I personally had three. Three characters in one story that I loved, cried for, laughed at, cheered for and wanted to hug.

I knew right away that the chapter names were the items on Bailey’s list, but what was so genius was that his selflessness gave him the ability to accomplish the list, even if the item checked off was for or involving another person. The simplicity of how he lived his life mixed with the complexity of his thought process and understanding and acceptance of his disease was equally heartbreaking and wonderful to experience.

Fern, I loved. She was the perfect friend through and through, and her interactions with Ambrose were so sweet, honesty and pure- I LOVE THEM. Ambrose and Bailey couldn’t have been more opposite figures in Fern’s life or more opposite characters, and yet, they were both “heroes” as was Fern, a “heroine”. It’s pretty genius to be able to create all that in one story and then intertwine it all so perfectly.

The outcome was bittersweet- through life and death, everyone was always growing in the book, so it made the tragedies easier to accept.

My absolute favorite quote, and a quote I’m strongly considering getting tattooed on me (I have no tattoos), was- “Victory is in the Battle”- that completely resonated with me, and the author, I felt, tied that theme into so many different circumstances between the different characters throughout the book.

“And so we endure. We have faith that there is purpose. We hope for things we can’t see. We believe that there are lessons in loss, power in love, and that we have within us the potential for a beauty so magnificent that our bodies can’t contain it.”- Like I said, it’s my new favorite.

Leave a Reply

